The Canberra Model

This free public conference marks the 40 anniversary of 
Sir David Butler’s pioneering book The Canberra Model(1973)
on Australia politics and government


Conference program:

9am Opening:  Professor John Uhr, Director, Centre for the Study of Australian Politics, School of Politics and International Relations, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

9.15am Sir David Butler, Nuffield College, Oxford - Reflections on Writing The Canberra Model

9.30am Panel One: Looking Backwards to The Canberra Model (Professor Don Aitkin, Dr David Solomon, Professor Patrick Weller and others)

10.30 Morning Tea/Coffee

10.50am Panel Two: Looking Beyond The Canberra Model (Professor Murray Goot, Antony Green, Dr Maria Maley, Dr Andrew Banfield, Jennifer Rayner and others)

12noon. Sir David Butler: Comments on today’s discussion

General discussion

12.30am John Uhr: event close

This event is linked to 2013 Centenary of Canberra program.

Date & time

9am–12.30pm 9 April 2013


University House Common Room, ANU


Professor John Uhr

Updated:  23 November, 2017/Responsible Officer:  College Dean/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications